If you are injured in an accident, one of the first things you will want to know is how much insurance the other driver had. This is important because if the other driver lacks insurance or has minimum insurance, it can prevent you from recovering.
Right now the state minimum insurance in Nevada is $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident and $20,000 for property damage. In Arizona, where we also represent injury victims it is slightly lower at $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident and $10,000 for property damage. Both states have mandatory insurance requirements…but that doesn’t mean all drivers actually carry insurance.
How do you know if the other side had insurance at all? Well, if police took an accident report the report (typically available within 10 business days) will give the policy number and name of the insurance company. But what are the policy limits? This makes a big difference to you at the end of the day. For example, if you have a $100,000 hospital bill you should hope that the other side has more than the state minimum insurance amount. Not everyone has high insurance limits.
Due to recent changes in the law, we can help you determine the amount of insurance the other driver has early in your case whereas an insurer may protect that information if you don’t have an attorney. It involves an agreement to provide the insurer an authorization to access some of your medical records directly and notice of the claim. In Nevada, an insurer is now legally required to disclose the information after a 2017 change in the law was replaced. So if you’ve been injured, call us so we can help you. This information is crucial to your case.
376 E. Warm Springs Rd., Suite 120 Las Vegas, NV 89119-4262